Peer Reviewed Journals

Please refer to our list of journals that have published research on hippotherapy. This list is not all inclusive. If you know of another journal that has publications on hippotherapy, please send them to the Research Committee,¬†[email protected]

 Understanding Journal Impact Factors
Journal List Website Access
American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation https://www.aapmr.org/
American Journal of Health Promotion https://journals.sagepub.com/home/ahp
American Journal of Occupational Therapy https://ajot.aota.org/
Archives Gerontology and Geriatrics https://www.journals.elsevier.com/archives-of-gerontology-and-geriatrics
BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders https://bmcmusculoskeletdisord.biomedcentral.com/
British Journal of Medicine and Medical Research https://publons.com/journal/20816/british-journal-of-medicine-and-medical-research
British Journal of Occupational Therapy https://journals.sagepub.com/home/bjo
Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice https://www.journals.elsevier.com/complementary-therapies-in-clinical-practice
Complementary Topics in Clinical Practice https://nccih.nih.gov/health/providers/clinicalpractice.htm
Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/14698749
Disability and Rehabilitation https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/idre20
Egyptian Journal of Medical Human Genetics https://www.journals.elsevier.com/egyptian-journal-of-medical-human-genetics/
European Journal of Medicine and Medical Research https://eurjmedres.biomedcentral.com/
Irish Journal of Occupational Therapy http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/services/publishing/ijot/index.htm
Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine https://home.liebertpub.com/publications/journal-of-alternative-and-complementary-medicine-the/26/overview
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders https://link.springer.com/journal/10803
Journal of Equine Veterinary Science https://www.journals.elsevier.com/journal-of-equine-veterinary-science
Journal of Neurologic Physical Therapy https://journals.lww.com/jnpt/pages/default.aspx
Journal of Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine https://www.iospress.nl/journal/journal-of-pediatric-rehabilitation-medicine/
Neuropediatrics https://www.thieme.com/books-main/neurology/product/2186-neuropediatrics
Pediatric Physical Therapy https://journals.lww.com/pedpt/pages/default.aspx
Physical and Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/ipop20
Physiotherapy Theory and Practice https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/iptp20
Research in Developmental Disabilities https://www.sciencedirect.com/journal/research-in-developmental-disabilities